

State of New Jersey

Department of Human Services

Philip Murphy Governor Sheila Y. Oliver Lt. Governor Sarah Adelman Acting Commissioner

The New Jersey Department of Human Services invites you to apply for the following position:

JOB POSTING N	UMBER 701-21			CLOSING DATE	Continuous
TITLE	Instructor 12 months CBVI	ISSUE DAT	10/12/2021		
		RANGE	P24		
	NJ Commission for the Blind	JALART	\$63,897.91- \$90,711.70		
Location	Visually Impaired – Cherry Freehold, Newark, and Atlar		Public		
DEFINITION	Under the direction of a Supervisor of Rehabilitation Training or Assistant Supervisor of Educational Programs in the Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired, Department of Human Services, provides for the evaluation, education, and training of blind and visually impaired and multi-handicapped individuals in the area of particular specialty in order to prepare them for maximal independent living, orientation, mobility, and vocational skills; does other related duties as required				
REQUIREMENTS					
EDUCATION	A valid "Teacher of the Blind and Visually Impaired" Standard Certificates, endorsement code 2415, issued board of Examiners of the New Jersey Department of Education.				
EXPERIENCE	Twenty – Four (24) months of appropriate, certified teaching experience in an approved school.				
Note					
NOTE FOR FOREIGN DEGREES	Degrees and/or transcripts issued by a college or university outside of the United States must be evaluated by a reputable evaluation service at your expense. The evaluation must be included with your submission. Failure to submit the required evaluation may result in an ineligibility determination.				
LICENSE	Appointees will be required to possess a driver's license valid in New Jersey only if the operation of a vehicle, rather than employee mobility, is necessary to perform the essential duties of the position.				
IMPORTANT NOTICE					
RESIDENCY	Effective 9/1/11, NJ PL 70 (NJ First Act), requires all State employees to reside in New Jersey, unless exempted under the law, or current employees who live out-of-state and do not have a break-in service of more than 7 calendar days, as they are "grandfathered." New employees or current employees who were not grandfathered and who live out-of-state have one year after the date of employment to relocate their residence to New Jersey or request an exemption. Current employees who reside in NJ must retain NJ residency, unless he/she obtains an exemption. Employees who fail to meet the residency requirements or obtain an exemption will be removed from employment.				
NOTE	Applicable special re-employment list established as a result of a layoff will be used before any promotions are made. All State workers are required to be fully vaccinated or submit to weekly COVID testing as of October 18 th , 2021. To comply with that requirement, fully vaccinated staff must provide proof of vaccination status				
DRUG SCREENING	If you are a candidate for a position that involves direct client care in one of the Department of Human Services' hospitals or developmental centers, you may be subject to pre and/or post-employment drug testing/ screening. The cost of any pre-employment testing will be at your expense. Candidates with a positive drug test result or those who refuse to be tested and/or cooperate with the testing requirement will not be hired. You will be advised if the position for which you're being considered requires drug testing and how to proceed with the testing. FILING INSTRUCTIONS				

Forward a cover letter and resume electronically to: cbvi.Postings@dhs.nj.gov

You must include the Job Posting # in the subject line of your email.

New Jersey Department of Human Services is an Equal Opportunity Employer